Support Ranked Choice Voting in UT cities!

January 9th, 2019|Action of the Day|0 Comments

In 2018 the Utah State Legislature passed HB 35 nearly unanimously to create a Ranked Choice Voting pilot program for Utah municipalities. Ranked Choice Voting has been adopted in 11 cities around the country and is shown to reduce the costs of elections for cities and candidates, increase voter turnout and improve civility of elections. Six Utah cities have now adopted Ranked Choice Voting to improve elections in municipalities during the 2019 election cycle!

Cottonwood Heights, West Jordan, Lehi, Payson, Salem, and Vineyard opted in to the Ranked Choice Voting pilot program for 2019 municipal elections. Show support for these pioneering cities and their decision to pave the way for Ranked Choice Voting in cities around the country!

WHAT YOU CAN DO

  • Live in one of these six cities? Thank your city council members and mayors for passing Ranked Choice Voting to improve elections and reduce costs. Find council member and mayor contact info below.
  • Write a letter to the editor of your local paper congratulating the six Ranked Choice Voting cities and explaining how Ranked Choice Voting helps strengthen our democracy and benefits our elections in Utah and beyond. Find more information on Ranked Choice Voting at FairVote.org, UtahRCV.com or use these talking points.
  • Spread the word on social media about how Ranked Choice Voting improves elections.

City Council Member Contact Information by City

Cottonwood Heights Mayor Michael Peterson Salt Lake County * mpeterson@ch.utah.gov (801) 944-7087
Cottonwood Heights Council Members Mike Shelton mshelton@ch.utah.gov (801) 944-7085
Cottonwood Heights Council Members Scott Bracken sbracken@ch.utah.gov (801) 944-7086
Cottonwood Heights Council Members Tali Bruce tbruce@ch.utah.gov 801-944-7037
Cottonwood Heights Council Members Christine Mikell christine@ch.utah.gov 801-944-7014

 

West Jordan Mayor Jim Riding Salt Lake County * jim.riding@westjordan.utah.gov 801-633-1430
West Jordan Council Members Chris McConnehey 801-613-8889
West Jordan Council Members Dirk Burton 801-440-7035
West Jordan Council Members Zach Jacob zachj@wjordan.com 801-755-9628
West Jordan Council Members Alan Anderson alana@wjordan.com 801-613-0801
West Jordan Council Members Chad Lamb chad.lamb@westjordan.utah.gov 801-856-5262
West Jordan Council Members Kayleen Whitelock kayleen.whitelock@westjordan.utah.gov 801-280-2367
Lehi Mayor Mark Johnson Utah County * mjohnson@lehi-ut.gov 385.201.2269
Lehi Council Members Paige Albrecht palbrecht@lehi-ut.gov 801.766.8750
Lehi Council Members Chris Condie ccondie@lehi-ut.gov 801.400.4258
Lehi Council Members Paul Hancock phancock@lehi-ut.gov 801.673.8783
Lehi Council Members Johnny Revill jrevill@lehi-ut.gov 801.318.9188
Lehi Council Members Mike Southwick msouthwick@lehi-ut.gov 801.768.8360
Payson Mayor Bill Wright Utah County * mayor@payson.org 801-465-5200
Payson Council Members Linda Carter lcarter@payson.org n/a
Payson Council Members Brett Christensen brettc@payson.org n/a
Payson Council Members Taresa Hiatt thiatt@payson.org n/a
Payson Council Members Brian Hulet bhulet@gmail.com n/a
Payson Council Members Doug Welton dougwelton@gmail.com n/a
Salem Mayor Kurt Christensen Utah County * mayorchristensen@salemcity.org 801-423-2770 ext. 201
Salem Council Members Sterling Rees srees@salemcity.org 801-423-2770
Salem Council Members Howard Chuntz chuntz@salemcity.org 801-423-2770
Salem Council Members Seth Sorensen ssorensen@salemcity.org 801-273-2770
Salem Council Members Cristy Simons csimons@salemcity.org 801-273-2770
Salem Council Members Craig Warren cwarren@salemcity.org 801-273-2770
Vineyard Mayor Julie A. Fullmer Utah County * julie.a.fullmer@gmail.com
Vineyard Council Members Nathan Riley nater@vineyardtown.org
Vineyard Council Members Pamela Spencer pams@vineyardutah.org
Vineyard Council Members Tyce Flake tycef@vineyardutah.org
Vineyard Council Members John Earnest john@vineyardutah.org
Vineyard Council Members Chris Judd chrisj@vineyardutah.org

Leave A Comment

Go to Top