Weigh in on Utah’s tax reform!

Following the 2019 Legislative Session and the introduction of HB441, a tax reform task force was created to continue working to update Utah’s tax policy. Analysts show that tax reform is necessary to address a variety of challenges, including: the modern economy, the growing population and changing demographics, and the existing, outdated revenue system. The primary issue with the current system is that the current structure relies on dwindling sales tax revenue and will be unable to cover even essential needs in the state within a couple of years.

A special session is planned for later this year to implement the task force recommendations. If a consensus cannot be reached by then, a bill will be introduced during the 2020 State Legislative Session.

Several public meetings will be held throughout Utah where citizens and businesses are encouraged to share their thoughts.


Attend a town hall on tax reform to give your input on tax reform in Utah! Eight town hall meetings have been planned around the state in June and July, including:

  • Brigham City on June 25 at 6 p.m.
  • Salt Lake County on June 27 at 6 p.m.
  • Richfield on June 28 at 6 p.m.
  • St. George on June 29 at noon
  • Davis and Weber counties on July 8 at 6 p.m.
  • Roosevelt on July 9 at 6 p.m.
  • Moab on July 20 at noon
  • Utah County on July 30 at 6 p.m.

More information:

HB 441 was proposed by Rep. Tim Quinn (R-Heber) during the 2019 State Legislative Session, proposing taxes on a variety of services to modernize the tax structure and provide needed future revenue. The measure ultimately failed after bitter debates and strong opposition from service industries.

Utah State Legislature’s Tax Restructuring and Equalization Task Force:

The Tax Restructuring and Equalization Task Force was created by legislation via HB 495 at the end of the 2019 State Legislative Session to study tax reform and make recommendations to the Legislature. At the first meeting on May 30, the task force created a vision, purpose and guiding principles. You can find audio recording and materials from that meeting here.

Members of the task force include:

Appointed by Senate President Stuart Adams:
Senator Lyle Hillyard, Co-Chair
Senator Curt Bramble
Senator Kirk Cullimore
Senator Lincoln Fillmore
Senator Karen Mayne
Gary Cornia (Non voting)
Keith Prescott (Non voting)

Appointed by House Speaker Brad Wilson:
Representative Francis Gibson, Co-Chair
Representative Joel Briscoe
Representative Tim Quinn
Representative Mike Schultz
Representative Robert Spendlove
Kristen Cox (Non voting)
Steve Young (Non voting)

Leave A Comment

Go to Top