County Offices are partisan offices elected in even years. Positions include Mayor, Manager, Commissioner, Clerk, Council, District Attorney, Sheriff, Recorder, Auditor, Treasurer, and Surveyor. County Elections are ran by your County Clerk’s Office.



The Mayor oversees their county’s main departments and is responsible for implementing legislation passed by the council. The Mayor is the County’s Chief Executive Officer.


Some counties may have a County Commission instead of a Mayor-Council, such as Beaver and Utah County. Commissions typically consist of 3 members, including a Commission Chair and sometimes a Vice Chair. The Commissioners act as both the legislative and executive branch and function like the Council and the Mayor.

County Manager

A County Manager is the County’s Chief Executive Officer, or, in the case of Summit County, may also be the Chief Financial Officer. The County Manager, like a County Mayor, implements legislation passed by the Council. This position is typically appointed.

County Council

The County Council acts as the legislative branch of the county government. The council looks to the city’s goals, major projects, budgets, and infrastructure improvements.


The County Clerk directs countywide elections, Marriage and Passport Divisions, and Council Clerk agendas. Sometimes the position of County Clerk, Recorder, and Auditor are held by one person. The County Auditor administers financial functions of the County.


The Assessor determines the value of properties for the purpose of taxation.


The Recorder keeps the official records of the county, including mortgages, deeds, and other documents involving property.

District Attorney

The D.A. represents the county in all court cases and performs legal duties for the county.


The Sheriff’s Office protects and serves the community through law enforcement, corrections initiatives, and court services.


The County Surveyor provides surveying and mapping services.


The Treasurer bills and collects all property taxes, refunds tax overpayments, and distributes all taxes collected to local tax entities.


Qualifications may vary depending on your county and each specific position, basic requirements include, but are not limited to;

    1. Candidate must be a U.S. citizen at the time of filing.
    2. Be a registered voter of the municipality for at least 12 months immediately preceding the date of the election.
    3. Be a resident of the County for at least 12 months prior to the date of the election.
    4. Candidates for District Attorney must also be an attorney licensed to practice law in Utah who is an active member in good standing of the Utah State Bar.
    5. Candidates for Sheriff must also be Qualified to be certified as a law enforcement officer and a correctional officer.
    6. Candidates for Assessor must also be a state-licensed or state certified appraiser

More information for Salt Lake County office eligibility, or visit your County Clerk.

Filing Deadlines

  • Early March: Declaration of Candidacy period (one week only)
  • September: Last day to declare as a write-in candidate
  • Late June: Primary Election
  • The Tuesday following the first Monday in November: General Election

For a more complete list of dates and deadlines, which may vary each year, please check with your County Clerk’s website or office.

Election Procedures

  1. Candidates must file for candidacy at their County Clerk’s Office.
  2. Candidates must pay a Filing Fee, or submit a Filing Fee Waiver Petition.
  3. Register a Personal Campaign Committee before receiving any political contributions or spending any money for campaign expenses.
  4. File periodic Campaign Finance Statements.


Go to Top